Dancing at GHS

One of the first things I loved about GHS was the fact that there were so many fine arts offerings for students – choir, band, drama, dance, photography, digital graphics, ceramics, art, game design.  The one I that I fell in love with most though was dance.  I guess that stems from the desire I had as a child to take dance lessons that my parents could not afford.  Just knowing that the students here had a chance to learn how to dance if they wanted to was inspirational to me.  It also helped that the dance teacher was a sweet, dear lady who loved to dance and loved that teenagers loved to dance.  She has since become one of my best friends.

Anyway, my love for dance has led me to attend the 3-4 dance recitals each year that Melissa puts on as a means of grading students on what they have learned in class.  From the Dance 1 students performing for the first time to the seniors performing their senior solos, I have continued to be impressed with the style and ability of the students.  Last night was no exception!  From Victoria and Lainey’s Dance 1 duet to Dance 2/3/4’s rendition of “Aquarius” to Cierra’s modern dance senior solo, the dancers impressed and amazed me! Kudos to Susan for her choreography on “Aquarius.”  I smiled, I cried, I whooted!  Hopefully, I can get a video clip of the number to post for everyone to see.

I am also fortunate to have been asked by the dancers to be the “coach” for Dance Team this year.  Melissa had found herself overwhelmed with her classes, her athletic trainer schedule and her home life and decided not to coach this year.  (There are only so many hours in a day, after all!)  Several of the girls came to me at the end of last year and asked if I would work with them.  After considering it (for about 5 minutes :)) I said I would.  We are currently about 3 weeks into our “season,” but they have not performed yet.  The snow before Christmas caused the school to postpone the home basketball game that would have been their premiere.   However, it was a blessing in disguise because now they have their complete costume and have the routine 100% perfected.  They will perform during halftime this Friday at the boys’ varsity basketball game.  I am as anxious as they are, but I know they will be fantastic.

